Emergency Weather

U.FERM.01.jpg
U.FERM.02.jpg
U.FERM.03.jpg
U.FERM.04.jpg
U.FERM.05.jpg
U.FERM.01.jpg
U.FERM.02.jpg
U.FERM.03.jpg
U.FERM.04.jpg
U.FERM.05.jpg

Emergency Weather

22.05

Between 1939 and 1946, under the Emergency Powers Act, Ireland found itself immersed in fog. In order to demonstrate its neutrality during World War II, the Irish government censored, along with a host of other things, all meteorological information. Naturally, this measure was intended to avoid the inopportune arrival of military aircraft or ships on Irish soil, but it was also a way of avoiding to commit, an acceptable way of not choosing sides.

Drawing from the archives of the National Library of Ireland and from various Irish newspapers, Ulrika Ferm attempts to recreate a statistical register of the meteorological conditions of the time. Magnificent misty landscapes and snatches of news items come together in a way that discloses a number of factual elements without explaining them in any specific way. Born of an enquiry into the nature and role of censorship, Ferm’s research raises a crucial issue for our hyper-informed era, that of the suppression and subsequent disappearance of information.

Ferm’s work, underpinned by a subtle narrative and particularly interested in forgotten, neglected or unexplained historical phenomena, slips between what these documents reveal and what they recount. Emergency Weather takes on a hybrid quality, existing as both document and fiction.

Quantity:
Add To Cart

LES PORTABLES

LES PORTABLES collection of Les Éditions Dazibao is dedicated exclusively to the work of one artist. The collection appropriates the form of the book as a space, and a site, for the dissemination of contemporary photographic practice. The books of Les portables are travelling exhibitions with unlimited venues and circulation.

 

Artist: Ulrika Ferm
Edited by France Choinière
Design: Joanne Véronneau
2009
Bilingual, 64 pages, black and white reproductions (duotone), hardcover
ISBN : 978-2-922135-33-6
 

Other titles in this series

Emergency Weather

U.FERM.01.jpg
U.FERM.02.jpg
U.FERM.03.jpg
U.FERM.04.jpg
U.FERM.05.jpg
U.FERM.01.jpg
U.FERM.02.jpg
U.FERM.03.jpg
U.FERM.04.jpg
U.FERM.05.jpg

Emergency Weather

22.05

Entre 1939 et 1946, sous l’Emergency Powers Act, l’Irlande est plongée dans un épais brouillard. Afin de démontrer sa neutralité lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le gouvernement irlandais choisit de censurer, comme une foule d’autres choses en cette période, toutes les informations relatives aux conditions météorologiques. Bien entendu, cette mesure visait à esquiver l’arrivée importune d’avions ou de bateaux militaires sur le territoire irlandais mais constituait aussi une voie d’évitement, une manière acceptable de ne point prendre position…

Puisant dans les archives photographiques de la National Library of Ireland et au sein de divers journaux irlandais, Ulrika Ferm tente de reconstituer un registre des conditions météorologiques de l’époque. De magnifiques paysages brumeux et des bribes de nouvelles s’entrecroisent pour laisser poindre de nombreuses données factuelles sans pour autant rien expliquer. Nées d’un questionnement sur la nature et le rôle de la censure, les recherches d’Ulrika Ferm soulèvent une problématique cruciale pour notre époque hyper informée : celle de la suppression et de la disparition subséquente de l’information.

Particulièrement intéressée par les phénomènes historiques oubliés, écartés ou encore inexpliqués, l’œuvre de Ferm, par une narration subtile, se glisse entre ce que les documents révèlent et ce qu’ils racontent. Emergency Weather est une œuvre hybride, à la fois document et fiction.

Quantity:
Ajouter au panier

LES PORTABLES

Une collection des Éditions Dazibao exclusivement dédiée aux œuvres d’un artiste. Les ouvrages développés dans le cadre de cette collection proposent l’objet livre comme un espace, voire un lieu, de diffusion pour l’image actuelle. Les portables sont des expositions itinérantes sans circulation prédéterminée et surtout sans limite de points de chute.

 

Artiste : Ulrika Ferm
Ouvrage sous la direction de France Choinière
Conception graphique : Joanne Véronneau
2009
Bilingue, 64 pages, reproductions en noir et blanc (duoton), reliure caisse cousue
ISBN : 978-2-922135-33-6
 

Autres titres de la collection