Performing an Archive

Cover_S.Lake.jpg
S.Lake_int.2.jpg
S.Lake_int.3.jpg
S.Lake_int.jpg
Cover_S.Lake.jpg
S.Lake_int.2.jpg
S.Lake_int.3.jpg
S.Lake_int.jpg

Performing an Archive

22.05

In Performing an Archive, Suzy Lake, an essential figure in Canadian contemporary art with an international reputation, continues her exploration of questions around identity and social issues. Drawing on history and her own family history, Lake bears witness to the urban, demographic and social development of Detroit, a city marked throughout the twentieth century by economic decline, racial tension and a startling crime rate. In a performative process, she visits the scene of various locations where her ancestors lived.

Quantity:
Add To Cart

Born in Detroit, Michigan, Suzy Lake has lived in Canada since the late 1960s, where she widely contributed to the emergence of conceptual and feminist art. She was one of the first artists in Canada to use performance, video and photography to explore questions of gender, the body and identity. Her work has been shown in numerous major exhibitions, including WACK! Art and the Feminist Revolution (organised by the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, 2007), Suzy Lake: Political Poetics (organised by the University of Toronto Art Centre and the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, 2011) and Traffic: Conceptual Art in Canada 1965-1980 (organised by the Art Gallery of Alberta, the Justina M. Barnicke Gallery at University of Toronto and the Vancouver Art Gallery, in partnership with the Leonard and Bina Ellen Gallery at Concordia University and Halifax, INK, 2012), exhibitions which later circulated widely. In 2014, the Art Gallery of Ontario mounted a major retrospective of her work, Introducing Suzy Lake. She has been a member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts since 2004.

DAZIBAO PRIZE

With this book, Dazibao rewards Suzy Lake, recipient of the Dazibao award, conferred during the 2013 edition of the Mois de la Photo à Montréal (curator: Paul Wombell) and for which Suzy Lake presented the work Reduced Performing.

For each edition of the Mois de la Photo à Montréal, Dazibao confers a prize to an artist participating in the event and whose work is particularly significant. This prize consists in the realisation of a book in Dazibao’s Les portables series. Since 2007, Dazibao has rewarded the prize to Gustavo Artigas (2007), Zineb Sedira (2009) and Jim Verburg (2011).

LES PORTABLES 

LES PORTABLES collection is dedicated exclusively to the work of one artist. The collection appropriates the form of the book as a space, and a site, for the dissemination of contemporary photographic practice. The books of LES PORTABLES are travelling exhibitions with unlimited venues and circulation.

 

Artist: Suzy Lake
Design: Studio TagTeam
Edited by France Choinière
In collaboration with Black Dog Publishing
2015
Bilingual, 64 pages, color reproductions, hardcover
ISBN 978-2-922-135-43-5
 

Available on the
open access platform

 

 

Other titles in this series

Performing an Archive

Cover_S.Lake.jpg
S.Lake_int.2.jpg
S.Lake_int.3.jpg
S.Lake_int.jpg
Cover_S.Lake.jpg
S.Lake_int.2.jpg
S.Lake_int.3.jpg
S.Lake_int.jpg

Performing an Archive

22.05

Figure incontournable de l’art contemporain au Canada et reconnue sur la scène internationale, Suzy Lake poursuit dans Performing an Archive ses réflexions sur des questions d’ordre identitaire et social. Entre l’Histoire et son histoire familiale, Suzy Lake témoigne du développement urbain, démographique et social de Détroit, une ville marquée au fil du siècle dernier par le déclin économique, les tensions raciales et un taux de criminalité effarant. Dans un processus performatif, l’artiste se met en scène sur les différents lieux ayant été occupés par ses ancêtres.

Quantity:
Ajouter au panier

Née à Détroit, au Michigan, Suzy Lake vit au Canada depuis la fin des années 1960, où elle a largement contribué à l’émergence d’un art conceptuel et féministe. Elle est l’une des premières artistes au Canada à utiliser la performance, la vidéo et la photographie pour explorer les problématiques du genre, du corps et de l’identité. Elle a participé à de nombreuses expositions majeures parmi lesquelles WACK! Art and the Feminist Revolution (organisée par le Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, 2007), Suzy Lake : Political Poetics (organisée par la University of Toronto Art Centre et le Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, 2011) et Trafic : L’art conceptuel au Canada 1965-1980 (organisée par l’Art Gallery of Alberta ; la Justina M. Barnicke Gallery, University of Toronto et la Vancouver Art Gallery en partenariat avec la Galerie Leonard-et-Bina-Ellen, Université Concordia et Halifax, INK, 2012), expositions qui ont ensuite largement circulé. En 2014, le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario lui consacrait une importante rétrospective : Introducing Suzy Lake. Elle est membre de l’Académie Royale des arts du Canada depuis 2004.

PRIX DAZIBAO

Par la production du présent ouvrage, Dazibao récompense Suzy Lake, récipiendaire du Prix Dazibao, décerné à l’occasion de l’édition 2013 du Mois de la photo à Montréal (commissaire invité : Paul Wombell) et pour laquelle Suzy Lake présentait l’œuvre Reduced Performing.

À chaque édition du Mois de la Photo à Montréal, Dazibao remet un prix à un artiste participant à l’évènement dont l’œuvre est particulièrement significative. Ce prix se concrétise par la réalisation d’un livre de la collection Les portables aux éditions Dazibao. Depuis 2007, Dazibao a remis ce prix à Gustavo Artigas (2007), Zineb Sedira (2009) et Jim Verburg (2011).

LES PORTABLES

Une collection exclusivement dédiée aux œuvres d’un artiste. Les ouvrages développés dans le cadre de cette collection proposent l’objet livre comme un espace, voire un lieu, de diffusion pour l’image actuelle. Les portables sont des expositions itinérantes sans circulation prédéterminée et surtout sans limite de points de chute.

 

Artiste : Suzy Lake
Conception graphique : Studio TagTeam
Ouvrage sous la direction de France Choinière
En collaboration avec Black Dog Publishing
2015
Bilingue, 64 pages, reproductions en couleur, reliure caisse cousue
ISBN 978-2-922-135-43-5
 

Disponible en
libre accès sur

 

 

Autres titres de la collection