Private Property / Propriété privée

PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_cover.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_1.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_2.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_3.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_cover.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_1.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_2.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_3.jpg

Private Property / Propriété privée

22.05

Kneubühler’s photographs depict dark and deserted places. The only human presence in them are the security guards whose forbidding stance indicates that these sites are private property and who, by following our slightest gestures and actions, impose a structure of control. Parking lots, surveillance systems, lampposts, illuminated office buildings at night – places of passage, of transit – create the fascinating universe of Private Property / Propriété privée. The photographs were taken in Montreal, “in places where people should not be,” as Kneubühler says; or at least, in places where our actions have to adhere, at all times, to the designated function and rationale of the location.

The book exposes the impersonal, artificially-lit spaces within the modern urban landscape. These sites, although very familiar, are rarely questioned. Kneubühler’s photographs situate themselves in a zone bordering between access and intrusion, public and private, open and demarcated and reflect on the notion of territorial appropriation and more fundamentally, on the boundaries of our personal freedom.

Quantity:
Add To Cart

LES PORTABLES

LES PORTABLES collection is dedicated exclusively to the work of one artist. The collection appropriates the form of the book as a space, and a site, for the dissemination of contemporary photographic practice. The books of Les portables are travelling exhibitions with unlimited venues and circulation.

 

Artist: Thomas Kneubühler
Edited by France Choinière
Design: Joanne Véronneau
2006
Bilingual, 32 pages, 18 color reproductions, hardcover
ISBN: 978-2-922135-28-2
 

Available on the
open access platform

 

 

Other titles in this series

Private Property / Propriété privée

PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_cover.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_1.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_2.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_3.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_cover.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_1.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_2.jpg
PRIVATE_PROPOERTY_3.jpg

Private Property / Propriété privée

22.05

Il fait sombre dans les photographies de Kneubühler, les lieux sont désertés de toute présence humaine à l’exception des gardiens de sécurité qui désignent le lieu comme espace privé et induisent une structure de contrôle épiant nos moindres faits et gestes. Des stationnements, des systèmes de surveillance, des réverbères, des immeubles à bureaux éclairés la nuit, des lieux de passage, de transit, constituent l’univers fascinant de Private Property / Propriété privée. Les photographies ont été prises à Montréal « là où l’on n’est pas censé être », dit Kneubühler. Ou, du moins, là où nos actions devraient correspondre en tout point à la fonction ou à la vocation du lieu.

Le livre met en évidence des espaces impersonnels artificiellement illuminés. Des sites très familiers mais peu questionnés du paysage urbain contemporain. Les images de Kneubühler se situent dans cette zone frontière entre l’accès et l’intrusion, le public et le privé, l’ouvert et le délimité. Fondamentalement, elles questionnent la notion d’appropriation du territoire et, plus essentiellement, les limites de notre liberté personnelle.

Quantity:
Ajouter au panier

LES PORTABLES

LES PORTABLES est une collection des Éditions Dazibao exclusivement dédiée aux œuvres d’un artiste. Les ouvrages développés dans le cadre de cette collection proposent l’objet livre comme un espace, voire un lieu, de diffusion pour l’image actuelle. Les portables sont des expositions itinérantes sans circulation prédéterminée et surtout sans limite de points de chute.

 

Artiste : Thomas Kneubühler
Ouvrage sous la direction de France Choinière
Conception graphique : Joanne Véronneau
2006
Bilingue, 32 pages, reproductions couleur, reliure caisse cousue
ISBN: 978-2-922135-28-2
 

Disponible en
libre accès sur

 

 

Autres titres de la collection