Seafaring and Disenchanted Matters

Z.SEDIRA.01.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.02.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.03.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.04.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.05.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.01.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.02.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.03.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.04.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.05.jpg

Seafaring and Disenchanted Matters

22.05

Seafaring and Disenchanted Matters is a five-part series of images taken in Mauritania along the coastline of Nouadhibou. Here, where the desert and the ocean meet, the hulks of rusting ships lie strewn on the shore. This cemetery of abandoned vessels is a departure point for illegal migration to Europe. Nearby this decrepit industrial wasteland lies a natural habitat where migrating birds can be observed as well as ruins of a fort and houses, sign of the crumbling of French colonial power in the 1960s.

In Nouadhibou hope, exile, migration, decline and death co-exist; Zineb Sedira’s ambivalent images show a city in a state of complete stagnation. They reveal the politics of power, the difficult socio-economic and environmental conditions and the frontiers of commerce and international economy, where demand, supply and working conditions are constantly changing outside Africa.

In her work Sedira subtly recounts an oppressive history, but one in which the Atlantic opens up to every possibility.

Quantity:
Add To Cart

Zineb Sedira lives in London and works in Algiers, Paris and London. She obtained an MFA from the Slade School of Fine Art (London). Her work is regularly presented on the international scene in solo and group exhibitions including the Tate Liverpool (2011), the Musée d’Art Contemporain [mac] (Marseille, 2010), the Palais de Tokyo (Paris, 2010), the Nikolaj, Copenhagen Contemporary Art Center (2010) and the Bildmuseet (Sweden, 2010). She has also participated to many biennials and triennials such as the Venice Biennale (2001 and 2011), the Folkestone Triennial (2011) and The ICP Triennial of Photography and Video (New York, 2003). In the Fall of 2011, the Galerie Kamel Mennour (Paris) will present the exhibition Beneath the Surface, accompanied by a publication.

DAZIBAO PRIZE

With this book, Dazibao rewards Zineb Sedira, recipient of the Dazibao Prize, conferred during the 2009 edition of the Mois de la Photo à Montréal (guest curator: Gaëlle Morel) and for which the Galerie B-312 presented the exhibition Mother Tongue. The recipient of the Dazibao Prize is given the opportunity to produce a book as part of Dazibao’s series Les portables.

LES PORTABLES

LES PORTABLES collection of Les Éditions Dazibao is dedicated exclusively to the work of one artist. The collection appropriates the form of the book as a space, and a site, for the dissemination of contemporary photographic practice. The books of Les portables are travelling exhibitions with unlimited venues and circulation.

 

Artist: Zineb Sedira
Edited by France Choinière
Design: Joanne Véronneau
2011
56 pages, color reproductions, hardcover
ISBN 978-2-922135-38-1

 

Other titles in this series

Seafaring and Disenchanted Matters

Z.SEDIRA.01.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.02.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.03.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.04.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.05.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.01.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.02.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.03.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.04.jpg
Z.SEDIRA.05.jpg

Seafaring and Disenchanted Matters

22.05

Seafaring and Disenchanted Matters est composé d’une série d’images en cinq parties prises en Mauritanie le long du littoral de Nouadhibou. À la rencontre entre le désert et l’océan, des épaves de navires rouillés jonchent le rivage. Or ce cimetière de vaisseaux abandonnés est un point de départ pour l’émigration clandestine vers l’Europe. À proximité de cette zone industrielle vétuste se trouve un habitat naturel où circulent les oiseaux migrateurs, une zone privilégiée pour y faire de l’observation. Et un peu plus loin, un fort et des maisons en ruine sont signe de l’effritement du pouvoir colonial français dans les années 1960.

À Nouadhibou se mêlent l’espoir, l’exil, la migration, le déclin, la mort ; les images ambivalentes de Zineb Sedira montrent une ville en plein marasme. Elles révèlent les politiques du pouvoir, les conditions socio-économiques et environnementales difficiles de même que les limites du commerce et de l’économie internationale, où la demande, l’approvisionnement et les conditions de travail changent constamment à l’extérieur de l’Afrique.

Les œuvres de Sedira racontent avec subtilité une histoire lourde mais dans laquelle l’Atlantique s’ouvre sur toutes possibilités.

Quantity:
Ajouter au panier

Zineb Sedira vit à Londres et travaille à Alger, Paris et Londres. Elle détient une maitrise de la Slade School of Fine Art (Londres). Son travail est régulièrement présenté sur la scène internationale dans le cadre d’expositions individuelles et collectives, notamment au Tate Liverpool (2011), au Musée d’Art Contemporain [mac] (Marseille, 2010), au Palais de Tokyo (Paris, 2010), à la Nikolaj, Copenhagen Contemporary Art Center (2010) et à la Bildmuseet, (Suède, 2010). Elle a participé à maintes biennales et triennales dont la Biennale de Venise (2001 et 2011), la Folkestone Triennial (Royaume-Uni, 2011) et la ICP Triennial of Photography and Video (New-York, 2003). À l’automne 2011, la Galerie Kamel Mennour (Paris) présente l’exposition Beneath the Surface, laquelle sera accompagnée d’une monographie.

PRIX DAZIBAO

Par la production du présent ouvrage, Dazibao récompense Zineb Sedira, récipiendaire du Prix Dazibao décerné à l’occasion de l’édition 2009 du Mois de la Photo à Montréal (Commissaire invitée : Gaëlle Morel) et pour laquelle la Galerie B-312 présentait l’exposition Mother Tongue.

À chaque édition du Mois de la Photo à Montréal, Dazibao remet un prix à un artiste participant à l’évènement dont l’œuvre est particulièrement significative. Ce prix se concrétise par la réalisation d’un livre de la collection Les portables aux éditions Dazibao. Un premier prix a été décerné en 2007 à Gustavo Artigas.

LES PORTABLES

Une collection des Éditions Dazibao exclusivement dédiée aux œuvres d’un artiste. Les ouvrages développés dans le cadre de cette collection proposent l’objet livre comme un espace, voire un lieu, de diffusion pour l’image actuelle. Les portables sont des expositions itinérantes sans circulation prédéterminée et surtout sans limite de points de chute.

 

Artiste : Zineb Sedira
Ouvrage sous la direction de France Choinière
Conception graphique : Joanne Véronneau
2011
Bilingue, 56 pages, reproductions en couleur, reliure caisse cousue
ISBN 978-2-922135-38-1
 

Autres titres de la collection