Texting Syria

LIAM-MALONEY-cover.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-1.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-2.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-3.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-4.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-cover.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-1.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-2.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-3.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-4.jpg

Texting Syria

22.05

For Syrians on the run escaping civil war, the mundane act of sending a text message proves to be a crucial line of connection with those left behind, a missive that confirms the survival or death of their loved ones.

In Texting Syria, photographer Liam Maloney examines how, along the journey refugees make from Syria to Lebanon and then Canada, mobile technology supports their struggles, transmitting strength and resistance. Gathered here are portraits, excerpts from text message conversations and images from popular culture that highlight intimate parallel narratives beyond the images disseminated in the media.

Quantity:
Add To Cart

Born in Montreal, Liam Maloney is a documentary photographer, artist and filmmaker. His work examines forced migrations and the disruptive intersections of technology and intimacy during wartime. His photographs have been published in numerous magazines including TIME, The Guardian, Foreign Policy, Mother Jones, The Globe and Mail, Maclean’s, Vice Magazine and many others.

The installation Texting Syria, from which this publication is developed, has been widely shown, including in Moving Walls, an annual documentary photography exhibition produced by the Open Society Foundations Documentary Photography Project (2015-2016), the Mois de la Photo à Montréal (2015), the Harbourfront Centre (2015), Festival Images Vevey (2014) and at the Nobel Peace Center as part of the exhibition Detours (2017). He recently participated in the MoMA’s group exhibition Insecurities: Tracing Displacement and Shelter (2016-2017).

DAZIBAO PRIZE

With this book, Dazibao rewards Liam Maloney, recipient of the Dazibao award, conferred during the 2015 edition of the MOMENTA (guest curator: Joan Fontcuberta), in which an exhibition of Maloney’s work, Texting Syria, was presented at Galerie B-312. 

Since 2007, the Dazibao Prize has been awarded to an artist participating in MOMENTA, whose work has stood out for its conceptual rigour, its relevance, and its contribution to image-based practices. The recipient of the prize is invited to produce a book for Dazibao’s Les portables series. 

LES PORTABLES

Dedicated exclusively to the work of one artist, each title of the series Les portables is a travelling exhibition with unlimited venues and circulation. The Dazibao Prize has been awarded to Gustavo Artigas (2007), Zineb Sedira (2009), Jim Verburg (2011), Suzy Lake (2013), and Liam Maloney (2015).

 

Artist: Liam Maloney
Design: Studio TagTeam
Edited by France Choinière
In collaboration with Black Dog Publishing
2017
Bilingual, 64 pages, color reproductions, hardcover
ISBN 978-2-922135-47-3
 

Other titles in this series

Texting Syria

LIAM-MALONEY-cover.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-1.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-2.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-3.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-4.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-cover.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-1.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-2.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-3.jpg
LIAM-MALONEY-4.jpg

Texting Syria

22.05

Pour les Syriens en fuite, échappant à la guerre civile, le geste banal d’envoyer un message texte s’avère un lien crucial avec ceux et celles laissés derrière eux, une missive qui confirme la survie ou la mort de leurs proches.

Dans Texting Syria, le photographe Liam Maloney examine comment, dans le parcours des réfugiés entre la Syrie, le Liban et le Canada, la technologie mobile soutien les luttes, transmet force et résilience. Sont réunis ici des portraits, des extraits de messages texte et des images issues de la culture populaire qui mettent en lumière des récits parallèles intimistes allant au-delà des images véhiculées par l’actualité.

Quantity:
Ajouter au panier

Né à Montréal, Liam Maloney est photographe documentaire, artiste et réalisateur. Son travail se penche sur les migrations forcées et la rencontre troublante entre technologie et intimité en temps de guerre. Ses photographies ont été publiées dans de nombreuses revues parmi lesquelles le TIME, The Guardian, Foreign Policy, Mother Jones, The Globe and Mail, Maclean’s et Vice Magazine.

L’installation Texting Syria, à partir de laquelle cette publication est élaborée, a été largement diffusée, notamment dans le cadre de Moving Walls, une exposition annuelle de photographies documentaires produite par le Open Society Foundations Documentary Photography Project (2015-2016), le Mois de la Photo à Montréal (2015), le Harbourfront Centre (2015), le Festival Images Vevey (2014) et le Nobel Peace Center dans le cadre de l’exposition Detours (2017). Il a récemment participé à l’exposition collective Insecurities: Tracing Displacement and Shelter au MoMA (2016-2017).

PRIX DAZIBAO

Par la production du présent ouvrage, Dazibao récompense Liam Maloney, récipiendaire du Prix Dazibao, décerné à l’occasion de l’édition 2015 de MOMENTA (commissaire invité : Joan Fontcuberta) pour laquelle l’artiste présentait l’exposition Messages textes pour la Syrie à la Galerie B-312. 

Depuis 2007, le Prix Dazibao est attribué à un artiste de MOMENTA, dont le travail se distingue par sa rigueur conceptuelle, l’actualité de sa démarche artistique et sa contribution aux pratiques de l’image. Le récipiendaire du prix est invité à concevoir un livre de la collection Les portables pour Dazibao.

LES PORTABLES

Exclusivement dédié au projet de l’artiste, chaque titre de la collection se propose comme une exposition itinérante sans circulation prédéterminée et, surtout, sans limite de points de chute. Le Prix Dazibao a été décerné à Gustavo Artigas (2007), Zineb Sedira (2009), Jim Verburg (2011), Suzy Lake (2013) et Liam Maloney (2015).

 

Artiste : Liam Maloney
Conception graphique : Studio TagTeam
Sous la direction de France Choinière
En collaboration avec Black Dog Publishing
2017
Bilingue, 64 pages, reproductions en couleur, reliure caisse cousue
ISBN 978-2-922135-47-3

 

Autres titres de la collection