E.Brunette_web.jpg
 

Session 21 | Edith Brunette

On March 28, 2019 at 7 pm

Facebook

Limited seats. Spectators will be let in on a first come first served basis.

Bertolt Brecht theorized and practiced a theatre wherein the political was activated through distance. Songs, choreographies and acting distanced from the actors, as well as abrupt lighting changes, were ways to insert the real into fiction, in hopes that political action would then take place as a result of gained awareness.

Around him and after him, distance became a political issue that was taken and thrown about in every which way: the contemporary world suffers diversely from an excess of separation (Henri Lefèbvre), from a lack of separation (Richard Sennett) or of it’s outright abolition (Fredric Jameson). Debord and the Situationists wanted to abolish it, but to do so also deployed an arsenal of eruptions and ruptures, which today we see utilized in advertising. Whereas musical comedies are over sweetened, Brecht’s procedures sought the (slightly) acidic.

In the middle of all this, the entrepreneur artist digs their way, somewhere between adhering to the world and the desire to change it, between songs of hope and fugues.

Sketches for an entrepreneurial musical comedy.


Edith Brunette conjugates artistic practice and theoretical research concerning active discourses in the field of art and what is revealed about the power and politics at play in society. Her projects have explored video surveillance (Caméraroman, 2011), freedom of speech in periods of social crises (Consensus, 2012-14), the political agency of artists (Faut-il se couper la langue?, 2013; Cuts Make the Country Better, 2015, in collaboration with François Lemieux), community practices (Contre-monument à 100 millions de brins d’herbe, 2015), and the artist as a circulated commodity (Sea Lanes, 2018-19, with François Lemieux). She has exhibited and presented her research in various locations in Canada (Galerie de l’UQAM, Skol, articule and DARE-DARE, Montreal; Le Lieu and La Chambre blanche, Quebec City; AXENÉO7, Gatineau; Cineworks/Western Front, Vancouver) and abroad (art3, Valence, France; Sapporo Tenjinyama Art Studio, Japon), and regularly publishes texts in various art publications, including esse arts + opinions, Inter and Liberté. She is a cofounder and co-organizer of Journée sans culture, a discussion platform for art workers. She is presently doing a doctorate in political studies at the University of Ottawa.

 

 
The artist thanks warmly Vincent Brault, Morgane Duchesne Ramsay, Michael Eddy, Charlotte Horny, Anne Lardeux, Catherine Lavoie-Marcus, François Lemieux, Anne-Marie Ouellet, Josianne Poirier, Marie-Christine Quenneville, Frédérique Roy, Anne-Marie Trépanier, as well as France Choinière, Emma-Kate Guimond and Jennifer Pham for their welcome.

Dazibao thanks the artist for her generous collaboration as well as its advisory programming committee for its support.

Dazibao receives financial support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.

E.Brunette_web.jpg
 

Session 21 | Edith Brunette

Le 28 mars 2019 à 19 h

Facebook

Les places sont limitées, l'entrée se fera sur le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Bertolt Brecht a théorisé et pratiqué un théâtre où le politique s’activait par la distance. Les songs, les chorégraphies, le jeu distancié des acteurs et les changements abrupts d’éclairages étaient des moyens de ramener le réel dans la fiction, en espérant que l’agir politique suivrait la prise de conscience.

Après lui et autour de lui, la distance est devenu un enjeu politique pris et retourné en tous les sens : le monde contemporain souffre diversement d’un excès de séparation (Henri Lefèbvre), d’un manque de séparation (Richard Sennett) ou de son abolition franche (Fredric Jameson). Debord et les Situationnistes ont voulu l’abolir, mais pour ce faire ont aussi déployé un arsenal d’irruptions et de ruptures, aujourd’hui repris par la pub. Tandis que les comédies musicales n’en finissent plus de sucrer les procédés que Brecht voulait (un peu) acides.

Au milieu de tout cela, l’artiste entrepreneur.e creuse sa voie, entre adhérence au monde et désir d’en changer, les chants d’espoir et les fugues.

Esquisses pour une comédie musicale entrepreneuriale.


Edith Brunette conjugue pratique artistique et recherche théorique. L’une comme l’autre s’intéressent aux discours ― notamment à ceux à l’œuvre dans le champ des arts ― et à ce qu’ils révèlent des forces et des jeux politiques à l’œuvre. Ses projets ont notamment porté sur la vidéosurveillance (Caméraroman, 2011), sur la prise de parole en période de crise sociale (Consensus, 2012-14), sur l’agentivité politique des artistes (Faut-il se couper la langue?, 2013; Cuts Make the Country Better, 2015, en collaboration avec François Lemieux), sur les pratiques du commun (Contre-monument à 100 millions de brins d’herbe, 2015) et l’artiste comme marchandise circulée (Sea Lanes, 2018-19, avec François Lemieux). Elle a exposé et présenté ses recherches dans divers lieux au Canada (Galerie de l’UQAM, Skol, articule et DARE-DARE à Montréal; Le Lieu et La Chambre blanche, Québec; AXENÉO7, Gatineau; Cineworks/Western Front, Vancouver) et ailleurs (art3, Valence, France; Sapporo Tenjinyama Art Studio, Japon), et publie régulièrement des textes dans différentes revues et publications sur l’art, notamment esse arts + opinions, Inter et Liberté. Elle est cofondatrice et coorganisatrice de Journée sans culture, une plateforme de discussions pour les travailleuses et travailleurs de l’art. Elle fait présentement un doctorat en études politiques à l’Université d’Ottawa.

 

 
L'artiste remercie chaleureusement Vincent Brault, Morgane Duchesne Ramsay, Michael Eddy, Charlotte Horny, Anne Lardeux, Catherine Lavoie-Marcus, François Lemieux, Anne-Marie Ouellet, Josianne Poirier, Marie-Christine Quenneville, Frédérique Roy, Anne-Marie Trépanier, ainsi que France Choinière, Emma-Kate Guimond et Jennifer Pham pour leur accueil.

Dazibao remercie l'artiste de sa généreuse collaboration ainsi que son comité de programmation consultatif pour son soutien.

Dazibao reçoit l’appui financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de Montréal, du ministère de la Culture et des Communications et de la Ville de Montréal.