Session 18 | Johnny Forever

On May 2, 2018 at 7 pm

Facebook

 

Limited seats. Spectators will be let in on a first come first served basis.

 

The self image is one of the most ubiquitous forms of expression on the Internet. Every waking moment is potential selfie material and every mood worth (over)sharing. Self image is inevitably at the forefront of my production as a performer and, while I pretty much post selfies every day of my life, I'm interested in the kinds of self image we don't share. In 2008 as I anticipated my father's imminent death after years of battle with colon cancer I took videos of myself regularly, never sharing or even reviewing a single one. Ten years later I find myself fascinated with this past self. My grief has developed into something more palatable and I have begun to mark it's tenth year by viewing this footage for the first time... and doing so publicly. This will be the second instalment of this process in which I hope to complete the viewing process.


Johnny Forever Nawracaj is a nonbinary Polishborn writer, performer and multidisciplinary artist currently based in Montreal. Their work weaves surrealist narrative through soft sculpture, video, and performance to explore love, loss, and longing with a particular investment in these themes as a part of radical queer and transcultural production. 

Forever has shown video work internationally at the Gallery of Modern Art in Glasgow as part of sh[out]: LGBTI Contemporary Art and Human Rights (2009), in San Francisco as part of the National Queers Arts Festival (2012), as well as at The Coming Society in Hong Kong (2013), and the Seoul 12th International New Media Festival in the curated series Queers Can't Wait (2012). Their ongoing collaboration with sound artist Gambletron has brought them to Santiago, Chile for 10th Encuentro festival presented by NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics (2016), as well as the Miami Performance International Festival (2017).

Dazibao thanks the artist for their generous collaboration as well as its members for their support.

Dazibao receives financial support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.

Session 18 | Johnny Forever

Le 2 mai 2018 à 19 h

Facebook

 

Les places sont limitées, l'entrée se fera sur le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

 

L’image de soi est l’une des formes d’expression omniprésente sur Internet. Chaque instant est potentiellement du matériel à selfie et chaque humeur mérite d’être (sur)partagée. Comme artiste de la performance, l’image de soi est inévitablement à l’avant-plan de ma pratique et, malgré le fait que je partage des selfies presque quotidiennement, je m’intéresse aux images de soi qu’on ne partage pas. En 2008, alors que j’anticipais la mort imminente de mon père après des années de combat contre le cancer du colon, je prenais régulièrement des vidéos de moi-même mais ne les partageais pas ni même ne les regardais. Dix ans plus tard, ce moi d'alors me fascine. Mon deuil s’est développé en quelque chose de plus tolérable et j’ai commencé à en souligner le 10e anniversaire en regardant ces images pour la première fois... et ce, devant public. Il s’agit donc de la seconde partie de ce processus et j’espère y compléter le visionnement.


Artiste non binaire d’origine polonaise, Johnny Forever Nawracaj vit à Montréal et sa pratique multidisciplinaire prend forme dans la performance et l'écriture. Leur travail forme des narrations surréalistes par la sculpture souple, la vidéo et la performance pour explorer de manière engagée les thèmes de l’amour, de la perte et de la nostalgie dans le cadre d’une production queer et transculturelle radicale.

Forever a présenté leur travail vidéo sur la scène internationale, notamment à la Gallery of Modern Art à Glasgow dans le cadre de sh[out]: LGBTI Contemporary Art and Human Rights (2009), à San Francisco lors du National Queers Arts Festival (2012) ainsi qu’à The Coming Society à Hong Kong (2013), et la 12e édition du International New Media Festival à Seoul dans le cadre du programme Queers Can’t Wait (2012). Leur collaboration en continu avec l’artiste sonore Gambletron les ont amenés à Santiago (Chili) pour le 10e Encuentro festival présenté par le Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics de la New York University (2016) et au Miami Performance International Festival (2017).

 
Dazibao remercie l'artiste de leur généreuse collaboration ainsi que ses membres pour leur soutien.

Dazibao reçoit l’appui financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de Montréal, du ministère de la Culture et des Communications et de la Ville de Montréal.