Session 19 | Leisure

Meredith Carruthers & Susannah Wesley


On October 18, 2018 at 7 pm

Limited seats. Spectators will be let in on a first come first served basis.


This Session explores the research and making of Leisure’s gradually evolving project, How One Becomes What One Is. How do we shape our path and what form does that path take? How do we move around or against obstacles in our way? What are the consequences of our gestures and choices? What happens when our path joins with another? When do we assert our power, accommodate or embrace moments lacking in control? For a number of years Leisure has looked to art history and the lives and practices of women artists to provide models for complex, multi-faceted and collaborative ways of living and creating. They will examine the alternative practices resulting from these strategies and question how these models might apply to present-day realities.

The presentation will be held in English.


Leisure is a conceptual collaborative art practice between Meredith Carruthers and Susannah Wesley, based in Montréal. Working together under the name “Leisure” since 2004, they engage with cultural and historical narratives through research, conversation, published texts, curatorial projects and art production. Leisure has produced exhibitions and special projects in Canada and abroad. Their recent research on collaboration, gesture and spatial narrative has included How one becomes what one is (Musée d’art de Joliette, 2018), Conversation with magic forms (VU Photo, 2017), Panning for Gold/Walking You Through It (Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, 2017), Conversations With Magic Stones as part of The Let Down Reflex (EFA, New York, 2016) and Dualité/Dualité (Artexte, Montreal, 2015).


Dazibao thanks the artists for their generous collaboration as well as its advisory programming committee for its support.

Dazibao receives financial support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.

Session 19 | Leisure

Meredith Carruthers et Susannah Wesley

Le 18 octobre 2018 à 19 h

Les places sont limitées, l'entrée se fera sur le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.


À l’occasion de cette Session, Leisure partage la recherche autour du projet évolutif How One Becomes What One Is ainsi que sa réalisation. Comment tracer sa voie et quelle forme prend-elle? Comment se déplacer autour ou contre les obstacles sur notre trajectoire? Quelles sont les conséquences de nos gestes et de nos choix? Que se passe-t-il lorsque notre chemin s’unit à un autre? Quand devons-nous affirmer notre pouvoir, nous adapter ou accepter l’incontrôlable? Depuis de nombreuses années, Leisure s’intéresse à l’histoire de l’art ainsi qu’à la vie et aux pratiques des femmes artistes, proposant des manières de vivre et de créer offrant des modèles complexes, multiformes et collaboratifs. Seront examinées des pratiques alternatives résultant de ces stratégies et comment ces modèles pourraient s’appliquer aux réalités actuelles.

La présentation se déroulera en anglais.


Depuis 2004, Leisure est la pratique artistique conceptuelle issue de la collaboration entre Meredith Carruthers et Susannah Wesley, toutes deux établies à Montréal. Sous ce nom, elles produisent des œuvres, publient des textes, agissent à titre de commissaires et poursuivent des recherches et discussions qui s’intéressent aux narrations culturelles et historiques. Leisure a réalisé des projets au Canada et à l’étranger. Leurs récentes recherches sur la collaboration, le geste et la mise en espace de la narration se sont développées dans les projets suivant : How One Becomes What One Is (Musée d’art de Joliette, 2018), Conversation with magic forms (VU Photo, 2017), Panning for Gold/Walking You Through It (Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, 2017), Conversations With Magic Stones dans le cadre de The Let Down Reflex (EFA, New York, 2016) et Dualité/Dualité (Artexte, 2015).


Dazibao remercie les artistes de leur généreuse collaboration ainsi que son comité de programmation consultatif pour son soutien.

Dazibao reçoit l’appui financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de Montréal, du ministère de la Culture et des Communications et de la Ville de Montréal.