Session 16 | Nasrin Himada

On November 29, 2017 at 7 pm

— Facebook

 

Limited seats, RSVP here.

I imagine all this before I go to sleep: my grandmother, who lived in Tarshiha, Palestine, is living in Montréal, in the same city as me. A nightly ritual of dream, fantasy and prayer: talking to ghosts becomes an act of remembering or of returning, an act of resurgence, in how we get to tell our stories, how we get to re-imagine our histories, one that disappeared in migration, now belongs to me and my dreams. I don’t know anything about this grandmother who lived in Palestine. I only ever met her once. Imagining her as I need her to be in the story anchors me, grounds me in a deep state of ‘be/longing.’ It’s an intimate act of prayer, a ghostly intervention in time, reckoning with my inability to write against grief.
— Nasrin Himada

For the Session 16, Nasrin Himada proposes a reading-performance on memory and the imagined futures that it generates. She will accompany her presentation with the video work Incidental Insurgents by artists Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme.


Nasrin Himada is a Palestinian writer and curator based in Tio'tia:ke (Montréal), in Kanien'kehá:ka territory. Her practice and research explores the politics of contemporary art practice, specifically focusing on experimental and expanded cinema, and contemporary media arts. Her most recent curatorial work has been exhibited at Leonard and Bina Ellen Art Gallery, and DHC/ART: Foundation for Contemporary Art. Her writings have been published in C Magazine, Critical Signals, The Funambulist: Politics of Space and Bodies, Fuse Magazine, MICE Magazine, among others.

Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme’s multidisciplinary practice — sound, image, text, installation and performance — probes a contemporary landscape marked by seemingly perpetual crisis and an endless ‘present’, one that is increasingly shaped by a politics of desire and disaster. Their work questions this suspension of the present and searches for ways in which an altogether different imaginary can emerge. The duo lives and works between New York and Ramallah and regularly participates in solo and group exhibitions around the world.

Dazibao thanks the artist for her generous collaboration as well as its members for their support.

Dazibao receives financial support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.

Session 16 | Nasrin Himada

Le 29 novembre 2017 à 19 h

— Facebook

 

Les places sont limitées, RSVP ici.

 
J’imagine tout cela avant de m’endormir : ma grand-mère ayant vécu à Tarshiha en Palestine, vit à Montréal dans la même ville que moi. Un rituel nocturne de rêve, de fantaisie et de prière : parler aux fantômes devient un acte de mémoire ou de retour, un acte de résurgence de par la façon dont nous racontons nos histoires et les ré-imaginons, cette histoire disparue dans la migration, m’appartient désormais dans mes rêves. Je ne connais rien de cette grand-mère qui vivait en Palestine. Je ne l’ai rencontrée qu’une seule fois. L’imaginer comme j’ai besoin qu’elle soit dans l’histoire m’ancre, m’enracine dans un profond état d’appartenance. C’est un acte intime de prière, une intervention fantomatique dans le temps, devant mon mon incapacité à écrire pour contrer la douleur.
— Nasrin Himada
 

À l’occasion de la Session 16, Nasrin Himada propose une lecture-performance sur la mémoire et les futurs imaginés qu’elle génère. Elle accompagnera sa présentation de l’œuvre vidéo Incidental Insurgents des artistes Basel Abbas et Ruanne Abou-Rahme.


 

Nasrin Himada est une auteure et commissaire d’origine Palestinienne établie à Tio’tia:ke (Montréal), sur le territoire Kanien'kehá:ka. Sa pratique et ses recherches explorent les politiques des pratiques en art contemporain, s’intéressant en particulier au cinéma expérimental et au cinéma élargi ainsi qu’aux pratiques actuelles en arts médiatiques. Son travail à titre de commissaire a récemment été présenté à la Galerie Leonard-et-Bina-Ellen et à DHC/ART Fondation pour l'art contemporain. Ses textes ont été publiés dans C Magazine, Critical Signals, The Funambulist : Politics of Space and Bodies, Fuse Magazine et MICE Magazine.

La pratique multidisciplinaire — son, image, texte, installation, performance - de Basel Abbas et Ruanne Abou-Rahme examine le paysage contemporain, qui semble être marqué par une crise perpétuelle et un «présent» sans fin, un paysage de plus en plus façonné par une politique du désir et du désastre. Leur travail remet en question cette suspension du présent et cherche comment peut en émerger un imaginaire complètement différent. Le duo vit et travaille entre New York et Ramallah et présente régulièrement des expositions individuelles et collectives sur la scène internationale.

 
Dazibao remercie les artistes de leur généreuse collaboration ainsi que ses membres pour leur soutien.

Dazibao reçoit l’appui financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de Montréal, du ministère de la Culture et des Communications et de la Ville de Montréal.