Life of a Craphead

Podcast

Text written by Chris Lee and read by Kama La Mackarel


Podcast

Staying out of Trouble – Reading the $100 Bill, written by Chris Lee and read by Kama La Mackerel.

As an accompaniment to Dazibao Satellite’s recently installed public art work $100 Bill With South Asian Scientist Added Back In by Life of a Craphead, Dazibao is pleased to offer a podcast for your listening enjoyment while you walk from one Satellite billboard to the next.

Mapping out a critical account of the controversial $100 bill featured on the billboards, the podcast looks at history and design, exploring how liberalism and legitimacy work hand in hand as a means to secure power and colonial processes.

Billboards are located on the facades of Café Cherrier (3635 St-Denis St.) and Bonsecours Market (350 St-Paul St. E). Go to either of the billboards and scan the Dazibao QR code to be taken directly to the podcast on this page.

Text written by Chris Lee

Translated by Colette Tougas

Read by Kama La Mackarel

Sound by Marie-Josée Archambault

This project has been realized with the generous support of the Caisse Desjardins du Plateau-Mont-Royal.


Chris Lee is a graphic designer and educator based in Buffalo and Brooklyn (NY), and Toronto (ON). He is a graduate of OCADU (Toronto) and the Sandberg Instituut (Amsterdam). His studio-based research explores graphic design’s entanglement with power, standards, and the question of what makes something legitimate. Chris is an Assistant Professor at the Pratt Institute.

Kama La Mackerel is a multi-disciplinary artist, writer, educator and cultural mediator who hails from Mauritius and now lives in Montréal. Their work is grounded in the exploration of justice, love, healing, decoloniality, and self- and collective-empowerment. Kama’s artistic practice spans across textile, visual, digital, poetic and performative work, and is at once narrative and theoretical, at once personal and political. A firm believer that aesthetic practices have the power to build resilience, to heal, and to act as forms of resistance to the status quo, Kama articulates an anticolonial praxis through cultural production.

+

 
Dazibao thanks the artists, the Café Cherrier (Alexandre and Jacques Boisseau) and the Bonsecours Market (Claude Pronovost) for their invaluable assistance as well as the Musée d’art urbain for the donation of the billboards.

Dazibao receives financial support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.

Life of a Craphead

Podcast

Texte rédigé par Chris Lee et lu par Kama La Mackarel


Podcast

Éviter les ennuis : une lecture du billet de 100 $ canadien, écrit par Chris Lee et lu par Kama La Mackerel.

Dans le cadre de Dazibao satellite et en complément à l’œuvre d’art publique $100 Bill With South Asian Scientist Added Back In du duo Life of a Craphead, récemment installée, Dazibao est heureux d'offrir un podcast pour accompagner votre balade entre les deux panneaux d’affichage.

Posant un regard critique sur la controverse entourant le billet de 100 $, représenté sur les panneaux d’affichage, ce podcast examine histoire et design pour explorer comment le libéralisme et la légitimité travaillent main dans la main pour sécuriser le pouvoir et les processus coloniaux.

Les panneaux d’affichage sont situés sur les façades du Café Cherrier (3635 Saint-Denis) et du Marché Bonsecours (350, Saint-Paul Est). Rendez vous à l’un ou à l’autre des panneaux où vous pourrez scanner le code QR qui vous mènera directement au podcast sur cette page.

Texte rédigé par Chris Lee

Traduction par Colette Tougas

Lecture par Kama La Mackarel

Son par Marie-Josée Archambault

Ce projet bénéficie du soutien de la Caisse Desjardins du Plateau-Mont-Royal.


Chris Lee est graphiste et éducateur, établi à Buffalo et Brooklyn (NY) ainsi qu’à Toronto (ON). Il est diplômé de l'OCADU (Toronto) et du Sandberg Instituut (Amsterdam). Ses recherches en studio explorent l’intrication entre le graphisme et le pouvoir, les normes et la question de la légitimité. Chris Lee est professeur adjoint à l'Institut Pratt.

Kama La Mackerel est un•e artiste pluridisciplinaire, auteur•ice, éducateur•ice, et médiateur•ice culturelle originaire de l’île Maurice et vivant maintenant à Montréal. Son travail est ancré dans l’exploration de la justice, de l’amour, de la décolonialité, de la guérison corporelle, spirituelle et ancestrale, et de l’émancipation individuelle et collective. Sa pratique inclut des œuvres textiles, visuelles, numériques, poétiques et performatives qui sont à la fois narratives et théoriques, personnelles et politiques. Étant persuadé•e que les pratiques esthétiques ont le pouvoir d’accroitre la résilience et de guérir, et d’agir comme forme de résistance au statu quo, Kama La Mackerel articule une praxis anticoloniale à travers la production culturelle.

+

 
Dazibao remercie les artistes, le Café Cherrier (Alexandre et Jacques Boisseau) et le Marché Bonsecours (Claude Pronovost) pour leur précieuse collaboration ainsi que le Musée d’art urbain pour avoir fait don des panneaux.

Dazibao reçoit l’appui financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de Montréal, du ministère de la Culture et des Communications et de la Ville de Montréal.